top of page
Featured Posts

My Timeline Journaling Art Experiences...

Since the Spring of 2018, I have been Weaving Community! This ongoing project started with a proposal for the Kaleidoscope Arts Festival in Coquitlam, BC. This project quickly became a continuation and keeps creating memorable, collaborative art experiences, repurposing recycled materials over and over, throughout Canada. Weave Community brings people of all ages together in places and time to weave their connections with each other.

My Timeline

Journaling the Weave Community Art Project...

The beginning of this journey started with the City of Coquitlam at 3 park nights in July 2018: July 12th - Galloway Park, 3404 Galloway Avenue July 19th - Rochester Park, 1390 Rochester Ave July 26th - Bramble Park, 2775 Panorama Drive

Culminating at the Kalidoscope Arts Festival on August 9th where we created a 20ft circular ground weaving, 9 - 6ft circular weavings and many of the make and take mini Weave Community circles in the outdoor studio. 5000 participants! What an incredible experience!

Shortly after the big Festival, I took some much needed quiet time out and went camping. I stopped at a geocache in Miracle Beach and added a mini weaving during this trip. I plan on making stops at other geocaches whenever I travel and leave a card for other to find and weave community.

Each year I coordinate Art Exploration Camp for children and youth at North Island College and in August 2018 right after the festival, I facilitated 6 large scale circular loom projects and mini weaving cards with all the kids, youth, staff and volunteers throughout the 2 weeks we were together.

Back to my roots after a busy and fun filled creative summer. I returned to Regina, Saskatchewan and got ready for an Art With Heart Retreat in Manitou, Saskatchewan. This is a very peaceful and wonderful Spa & Resort with healing waters of Manitou Lake and wonderful accomodations. Weaving Community with this group of women is where I felt the all the intentions and connections of this project from the whole summer and at that very moment in a mindful space with creative woman. What a great way to reflect on Weave Community!

In the Fall of 2018 and into Spring of 2019, I hosted a Business of Being an Artist Series at the Sybil Andrews Cottage with 8 local artists. Weaving Community with this group of beautiful artists was easy. I was delighted to share this project with them at one of initial workshops while we were getting to know one another. This project gave us time to be creative and dialogue while we were creating community together.

In the Spring of 2019 I was approached by the Campbell River Art Gallery about hosting a Weave Community Art Project at the Campbell River Pride Festival. This opportunity was so amazing! I met so many people that day that were so excited to be celebrating each other. The positive spirit of this festival was truly memorable and the conversations and connections made weaving together created a colourful centerpiece at the festival. Thank you Campbell River Art Gallery!

After the Pride Festival, I was asked to hang the 2 large scale pieces created in Spirit Square in Campbell River for a Music Festival, where these community collaborations became a colourful backdrop for the event.

I am finding myself taking my mini cards for Weaving Community everywhere and leaving them for others to pick up. I wonder where they go? Also, in the Summer of 2019 at the City of Courtenay's, Art Exploration Camp at North Island College, the kids made these hundreds of these tiny woven circles and even pom poms from the yarn! During free times they kept on making mini woven circles and they became a staple camp item hanging on water bottles, hats, and name tags. The kids were so into weaving I decided to do a short bookmark weaving project with them and they loved this too and asked to make more. So, Weaving Community was a big hit at camp this summer!

I also decorated my backyard this summer with colourful parts from all the recycled materials. creating a colourful tent, a large scale hanging piece and hung the 2 large scale pieces from the Spring projects. My yard was so colourful and I spent a lot of time outside creating and enjoying this space reflecting on the many hands and many stories that had already been created with these recycled materials.

In the Fall of 2019, I was contacted by Laichwiltach Family Life Society to come and facilitate a Weave Community with Elders Workshop in January 2020. This experience again created a feeling of gratitude to be asked to work with local First Nations Elders, some who were traditional weavers and share this community art experience. We had good food, good fun Weaving Community together! I am so grateful for the time to work with such a kind, comforting and community engaged group of Elders.

Many of my mini weaving cards have been sent or given to friends and family all over Canada. I even got a message from a family in Coquitlam and the kids were so excited to use the little circle weavings to sew onto a their clothing and wanted to send me a picture. I hope they continue to spread all over, Weaving Community and connecting more and more people for many years to come!

Some of the materials have also been repurposed into other large scale circular looms with the community, decorating my outdoor space, making rope, rugs, bookmarks, mats, bags, and other sewing projects.

I didn't think this project would take on such an amazing life and repurpose materials time and time again. I am so grateful for this ongoing project. I love creating art experiences with others. Over the many experiences so far, I have had the pleasure to talk with hundreds of people of all ages during our weaving together. I feel like a little piece of each person and the time we spent together is left on these threads. The intergenerational collaborations and connections made each time continue to inspire me and fill me with ongoing purpose to continue this Weaving Community Art Project and create more Art Experiences to share.

Let's set up a Weave Community Art Experience! contact me

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page