top of page

Sunrise Clay Meditations


The concept for this earth art I make on the estuary is a personal offering created for the earth and as thanks to eelgrass for the breath it gives us. An integral part in my art practice is to be out in nature. I think about the estuary and how to thank earth, water and air for providing for us unconditionally each day.

I am interested in eelgrass and how I can express how this extraordinary plant cleans the air we breathe, water we drink and is home to hundreds of species.

I am conscious of the materials I use to express my thanks and gratitude to the earth, water and air in my art practice. So, when I am creating, I am using the earth, and organic materials from the land and sea. For these earth art offerings, I choose the estuary as my studio and create a centered experience for myself to connect deeply to this place and all living things of this earth and in spirit, in turn this makes me deeply connected to my art practice. I choose to meditate using adobe clay I have made using earth materials and eelgrass and other organics I find from land and sea. My breathe guides my making with these materials and the estuary is my muse. I take in the sounds, the feelings of it on my skin, and the visually stunning life and natural surroundings of this place and I listen to the earth speak to me. Feeling the earth in my hands, I create small clay offerings using my breath as the rhythm for the process of making. I leave these offerings unfired in places around the estuary where I am using this meditative practice to offer my thanks to the eelgrass, the earth, water, and air. This process is like a ritual for me. After meditating with clay, I reflect on these experiences by free writing in these places along the estuary as I send these thoughts out in a prayer of thanks, gratitude, hope and as a personal proclamation that I am listening and I will protect the earth water and air.

I hope by documenting and writing here, I can share my experiences with you through my art practice with earth materials. I hope you can see the earth through my eyes, feel it in your heart through my process, and see why I will save the earth.

It is important for me to create a space and time in this place to deepen my connection and offer my intentions and I see this as a foundation to evoke action in others leading by example.

I want to share this clay meditation and other eco art projects with the community. I want to partner with events and organizations to create eco art that talks about the earth. If you would like to join me for an eco art event on the estuary or in the community please contact me. Also, if you work or volunteer for a local organization that would like to have eco art as part of your event please contact me.

Copyright © 2018 TaraLee Houston

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page