top of page

Saving the Earth One Eco Art Event at a Time


eelgrass on the shores of the GooseSpit - photo copyright by TaraLee Houston

This blog is a place where I plan to capture the essence of my environmental activism through; my art making, journaling, poetry, creative process, questioning, making statements, social practice, eco art with others, with my hands, my heart and my soul.

This will be a place I will express without censors to share with others who want to join me, who feel inspired, who read to reflect on my prose. These words will be authentic, raw, seem crazy sometimes but they are straight from my heart centered approach to save the earth! Thank you for reading. I hope it will inspire you to take action too. In my current art practice I am working on an environmental focused theme of the importance of eelgrass and bringing awareness to the microscopic organisms that live in the water called Diatoms. These species gives us clean air to breath each day and cleans the water and air from the pollution we cause a rate of 10 times more then a same size boreal forest and will do this for over a millennia if left undisturbed. This scientific fact alone makes me want to scream it so loud that everyone stops to listen. For now, I am planning some eco art events in hopes of making a positive change and connecting with others. When I think about climate change as I look out my window and see the rising tides and the waves splashing and flooding the local area more with each winter storm, I am motivated even more at how we can preserve and protect our planet. I feel that eelgrass is a key species to restoring some of the damage we have caused and that can help humans and many other species now and in our future. A future I hope for, that is clean and where our air is still safe for us to breathe. Bringing the community into my art practice is important to me and the work that I create to make a difference in our local and global community. It is my job to speak up the earth as an artist! I will be hosting a series of eco art gatherings on the K'omok's estuary. Please subscribe to my blog or one of my social media feeds to get an invitation to upcoming events.

We will circle the K'omoks Estuary as stewards and commit to protecting our earth through a series of eco art actions in the community. I look forward to coming together as a collective in a space of hope and celebration of our abundant and beautiful estuary. This act of giving your time to meditate, discuss and create, centered around the importance a healthy environment in our lives can make a difference. Let this be a safe space, and a social, positive time to gather and thank the earth. "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." Margaret Mead

Copyright © 2018 TaraLee Houston

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page